EU Visa: EU Visitors Will Have to Pay From 2024

Starting in 2024, non-EU citizens aged 18 to 70 traveling to or transiting through EU countries with passports from certain countries will experience a slight increase in expenses since they have will have to issue an EU Visa. They will be required to pay €7 (£6, $7.50) for entry or transit. In 2024, a new visa system named the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) will be implemented for those who wish to visit EU countries. To continue visiting European countries, visitors will be required to obtain an official ETIAS visa waiver. This will apply to tourists and business travelers for stays of up to 90 days, and a separate visa will be necessary for more extended stays. The ETIAS visa waiver must be obtained at least 96 hours before departure. Although it may seem complex and costly, the new visa system is not as daunting as it may appear. The €7 fee does not need to be paid every time you enter an EU country. The visa waiver is valid for three years, which means you will only have to renew it once it expires or if you acquire a new passport. While the requirement for UK citizens to use the ETIAS visa waiver system is a consequence of Brexit, it also applies to passport holders in plenty of other countries worldwide. From the USA and Canada to Brazil, Japan, and Australia, a grand total of 57 countries are eligible. You can see a full list of ETIAS countries here. The implementation of the ETIAS system, which was scheduled to commence in November 2023, has been postponed due to concerns from EU member states about its execution. The new system is now expected to be launched in 2024, which indicates that visitors will not have to concern themselves with these requirements until after next year's summer vacations. As of now, most travelers visiting the EU do not have to pay any fee, so it is recommended that they take advantage of this opportunity.